Our structure

Our structure

MISA Tanzania is a non-governmental, non-partisan and non-profit organisation founded in 1997.

General Congress

The General Congress is the supreme decision-making body in all matters pertaining to the coalition. It has powers to amend and adopt MISA Tanzania’s constitution; approve policies and programs of the coalition, including the strategic plan; determine membership fees; receive and review reports from the organisatin’s National Governing Council; elect the National Governing Council, and other powers/functions. The functions and powers of the General Congress are stipulated under Article 20 of MISA Tanzania’s constitution.

National Governing Council

The NGC comprises of five members, who include:

  • chairperson
  • vice chairperson who is a lawyer
  • treasurer who is a Certified Public Accountant
  • two members who are journalists by profession.

The powers and functions of the NGC are stipulated in Article 24 of the MISA Tanzania Constitution.

Secretariat (Management)

The Secretariat is headed by the national director, supported by head of the finance and administration.

Some of the key functions of the management are to undertake monitoring and evaluation of the planned activities, carry out freedom of expression and the right to information work, and receive membership fees and communications. The structure of the secretariat is stipulated under Article 32 of the MISA Tanzania constitution.